The Triton

News

Take the Triton nautical quiz

ADVERTISEMENT

 

Correct yacht names from the photos in The Triton Today. From left to right, top to bottom:
Hope, Arianna
Night Moves, Rochade
Carcharius, Lejos (tall skinny photo), Xanadu
Reenergized, Poupee, Grand Coroto
Longo Mai, Dancing Milly III, Dulcinea, Mi Mu
Constellation, Golden Compass, Life of Reilley



Q. Yacht crew are world travelers and usually in-sync with times around the globe.
If it is noon at The Palm Beach International Boat Show, what time is it in:
Barcelona, Dubai, Vancouver, Tokyo, Sydney, Rio de Janeiro, Galapagos Islands, Anchorage?

 


A. According to www.timeanddate.com the time is:

Barcelona 5 pm (GMT +1 hour)
Dubai 8 pm (GMT +4 hours)
Vancouver 9 am (GMT -7 hours)
Tokyo 1 am (GMT +9 hours)
Sydney 3 am (GMT +11 hours)
Rio de Janeiro 1 pm (GMT -3 hours)
Galapagos Islands 10 am (GMT -6 hours)
Anchorage 8 am (GMT -8 hours)




Q. What are the following abbreviations found on nautical charts?
F and Fl, PA, Tr, RoRo, HAT, MSL



A.  Answers to nautical chart abbreviations
PA – Position approximate
F, Fl – fixed and flashing light
Tr – tower
RoRo – Roll-on, roll-off ferry terminal
HAT highest astronomical tide
MSL mean sea level



Q.  There are several ways to define the world’s ports. Each list is different, but name a few of the busiest, oldest and most beautiful.



A.  According to www.marineinsight.com and www.wikipedia.org, the following ports rank (in no order) highest in cargo and traffic:  Singapore, Busan (also known as Pusan) in South Korea, Port of Rotterdam in the Netherlands, Port of Kobe in Japan and Port of Dover in the United Kingdom. As well as Ningbo-Zhoushan, Tianjin, Guangzhou, Qingdao, Qinhuangdao Port and Hong Kong all in China.

And this subjective list describes the following list (in no order) as the oldest and most beautiful: Dubrovnik in Croatia, Venice in Italy, Lisbon in Portugal, Istanbul and Kusadasi in Turkey, Beijing (also known as Tianjin) in China, Athens (also known as Piraeus) in Greece, Stockholm in Sweden, Quebec City in Canada, St. Petersburg in Russia, Alexandria in Egypt,  Haifa in Israel, Bizerta in Tunisia, Miami in Florida and Nassau, Bahamas.

Related Posts...
About 105,000 buyers, sellers and browsers visited the Fort Lauderdale Read more...
Crow’s Nest Yachts brokerage, based along San Diego’s Shelter Island, Read more...
Online registration for the 2018 Refit International Exhibition & Conference Read more...
Finnish foundry Tevo Lokomo Ltd. has joined forces with a Read more...
By Dorie Cox No matter how often immigration, cruising permit Read more...

Share This Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please answer the question below to leave a comment. * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Editor’s Picks

USVI Charter Yacht Show previews season, post-hurricane cruising grounds

USVI Charter Yacht Show previews season, post-hurricane cruising grounds

By Carol Bareuther It felt like business as usual at the USVI Charter Yacht Show, hosted by the newly formed Virgin Islands Professional …

Gallery: Triton Networking at Longbow Marine

Gallery: Triton Networking at Longbow Marine

Nearly 300 captains, crew and industry pros joined us last night for Triton Networking at chandlery Longbow Marine in Fort Lauderdale. Low …

Latest news in the brokerage fleet: Casino Royale, Man of Steel sell

Latest news in the brokerage fleet: Casino Royale, Man of Steel sell

Yachts sold M/Y Casino Royale, a 163-foot (49.7m) Christensen built in 2008, sold by Northrop & Johnson brokers Joe Foggia, acting …

Sell the anchor, barter for a kayak, buy a drone with Yachting Trader app

Sell the anchor, barter for a kayak, buy a drone with Yachting Trader app

By Dorie Cox Capt. Ken Maff and his wife, Chief Stew Heidi Romero, have managed thousands of pounds of stuff during their careers on …

Featured Listings