The Triton

Boat Show News

FLIBS18: Test your mates with our nautical quiz

ADVERTISEMENT

How nautically minded are your crew mates? Find out with today’s questions in our little nautical quiz.

  1. How fast can you sync with times around the globe. If it is 9 a.m. at the Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show, what time is it in Monaco, Sydney, Rio de Janeiro, Halifax, Tokyo, Johannesburg and Reykjavik?
  2. A boat in your danger zone, from dead ahead to two points abaft the starboard beam, is usually which: Give-way vessel, privileged vessel or burdened vessel?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Scroll down for the correct answers…)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Fort Lauderdale is UTC -4 hours. When it is 9 a.m. at FLIBS, it is 2 p.m. (UTC+1 hour) in Monaco; midnight (UTC+11 hours) in Sydney; 11 a.m. (UTC-2 hours) in Rio de Janeiro; 10 a.m. (UTC-3 hours) in Halifax; 10 p.m. (UTC+9 hours) in Tokyo; 3 p.m. (UTC+2 hours) in Johannesburg; and 1 p.m. (UTC) in Reykjavik.
  2. Privileged vessel.

 

 

 

 

Questions from Saturday:

  1. This instrument detects atmospheric pressure and scribes a line on a revolving drum marked in increments of time and millibars or hectopascals. The mariner is mostly interested in the trend of the pressure variations. A fast-dropping line usually indicates inclement weather on its way. What is this instrument? — A barograph
  2. If you are propelling a boat by pulling on the anchor chain with anchor attached, you are doing what? — Kedging off.

Questions from Friday:

  1. Where does the word “graving” come from in the term graving dock? — The word “graving” comes from the Dutch word “graven,” which means to dig. A graving dock is a  “dug out” dry dock..
  2. True or false: A boat on starboard tack is required to give way to a boat on a port tack. — False

Questions from Thursday:

  1. What is a seaman’s name for a reef knot tied upside down? — Rogue knot.
  2. A tide that has two equal daily high waters and two equal daily low waters is known as what? — Semidiurnal tide
  3. What does RADAR stand for? — The term RADAR was coined in 1940 by the United States Navy as an acronym for radio detection And ranging.

Questions from Wednesday:

  1. What does ARPA stand for? — Automatic Radar Plotting Aids
  2. Describe freeboard. — The vertical distance from the upper edge of the deck line to the load line.

Related Articles

Write to be heard:  Biodiesel, Cuba, owner’s view, interior crew

Write to be heard: Biodiesel, Cuba, owner’s view, interior crew

Biodiesel from diverse resources at a dock near you The recent article, “Biodiesel, petrodiesel could fill your yacht tanks in the future” [page B3, February issue] got many things right …

Tritons spotted during Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show

Tritons spotted during Fort Lauderdale International Boat Show

Camden Brady visited the Fort Lauderdale International Boat show for the second time in her one-and-a-half years and was spotted on the docks with a Triton Today. Her father, Capt. Andy Brady on M/Y …

M/Y Serena III sinks off Ft. Lauderdale

M/Y Serena III sinks off Ft. Lauderdale

The U.S. Coast Guard rescued 13 people off a 106-foot yacht that eventually sank about 15 miles east of the Hillsboro Inlet in Ft. Lauderdale on Monday night (Jan. 25). The USCG received a …

Join Triton Networking with Longbow Marine on Nov. 15

Join Triton Networking with Longbow Marine on Nov. 15

Triton Networking returns on Nov. 15 to Longbow Marine, an engineering-focused chandlery in Fort Lauderdale. Captains, crew and industry professionals are invited to join us for Longbow’s version …

New edition of NOAA’s US Coast Pilot available

New edition of NOAA’s US Coast Pilot available

The first volume of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration U.S. Coast Pilot (Vol. 1, 48th edition, 2018) is now available. It includes the Navigation Rules and the amalgamated …

Miami navigates yacht facility resurgence

Miami navigates yacht facility resurgence

When Ismael “Issy” Perera's marine business on the New River in Ft. Lauderdale was asked to leave this summer to make room for condos, he could have closed down. Instead he picked up Apex …

Comments

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please answer the question below to leave a comment. * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Editor’s Picks

A look at and inside Pendennis

A look at and inside Pendennis

Let us first set the scene, as the location of this shipyard is very much a part of its DNA. Cornwall is a county in England, right at the …

Canadian Maritimes offer secluded cruising

Canadian Maritimes offer secluded cruising

As the nations of the world began to close down this spring, many captains and charter managers began looking for alternative cruising …

From the Bridge: Captains offer tips on how to start, grow and make it in yachting

From the Bridge: Captains offer tips on how to start, grow and make it in yachting

COVID has changed everything about yachting. Cruising grounds closed; cruising itself was severely limited. Onboard operations changed in …

One captain’s mission to ‘bullet proof’ his A/C system

One captain’s mission to ‘bullet proof’ his A/C system

After more than 30 years playing with, working on and running boats in several sectors of the maritime industry, one thing about yachting …

Events