The Triton


Acrew announces 2019 Crew Award finalists


Finalists for Acrew’s 2nd annual Crew Awards have been announced. The finalists will be presented to an independent and anonymous panel of judges, including captains, senior crew and industry specialists for an award ceremony on Oct. 12 at Palais de la Méditerranée in Nice.

And the finalists are:

Captain (Master Unlimited)

  • Alex Whitty – M/Y NAIA
  • Craig Thurlbourn – M/Y A
  • Stanley Benngard 

Captain (Master 3000GT)

  • Dean Pillati – M/Y Arience
  • Robert Wooldridge – M/Y Lady Rose
  • Troy Doughtery – M/Y Muchos Mas

Captain (Master 500GT)

  • Tristan Mortlock – M/Y AWOL
  • Sami Parviainen – M/Y Africa
  • Jason Pliatsikas – M/Y Veni Vidi Vici

First Officer

  • Barbara Clerc – M/Y AWOL
  • Brandon Dax Whitson- M/Y Cloudbreak
  • Lourentia Schreuder


  • Anna Steyn – M/Y Polar Star
  • Jules Thomson – M/Y Limitless
  • Liz Piasente – S/Y Black Pearl

Chief Stew

  • Giverny Jade – M/Y AWOL
  • Josipa Lozo – M/Y Maryha
  • Martina Brčić – M/Y Africa


  • Michaela Letley – M/Y AWOL
  • Victoria Lillington – M/Y NAIA

Chief Engineer & ETO

  • Slaven Mehic – M/Y AWOL
  • Alan Vermeulen 
  • Thaleia Lewis – M/Y Siren

Engineer & ETO

  • Ryan Murray
  • Dean de Groot
  • Glen McClearly 
  • Bryce Perigo


  • Marco Lima – M/Y Haida 1929
  • Ben Reeve – M/Y Berco Voyager
  • Bianca Jade Murphy


  • Jason Lambert – M/Y AWOL
  • Craig Dalgleish – M/Y Samara
  • Matthew Hepburn – M/Y Samara

Best Charter Yacht

  • Paul Clarke – M/Y Loon
  • Tristan Mortlock – M/Y AWOL
  • Lachlan Briggs – M/Y La Tania

Best Private Yacht

  • Tim Armstrong – M/Y Dilbar
  • Robert Wooldridge – M/Y Lady Rose
  • David Collins – M/Y Explorer

Humanitarian award

  • Dorothea3
  • The Fly Fleet

Entrepreneur award 

  • Shelton Dupreez – Luxury Yachtfilms
  • Branka Pavasovic – Yacht Cover
  • Edward Dunnett – Onshore Cellars

Environmental award 

  • Dawn Kochan – M/Y Integrity
  • Helene du Plessis – M/Y Haida 1929
  • Julian Spier – M/Y Shemara

Newcomer award 

  • Lee Thomas 
  • David Langlois – M/Y AWOL

Duty of Care award 

  • Alistair Dickinson
  • S/Y Red Dragon (whole crew)
  • M/Y DAR (whole crew)

Creativity award 

  • Jared Watney – M/Y Arience
  • Gemma Hulbert 
  • Tom Medlock

Team Player award

  • Alistair Dickinson
  • Sarah Douglas

For more information, visit To see photos of 2018 award winners, click here

Related Posts

  • Loon, Lady Rose take top crew awards
  • FLIBS19: M/Y Excellence excels in interior contest
  • Share This Post

    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Please answer the question below to leave a comment. * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Editor’s Picks

    Captain builds tender for users’ comfort

    Captain builds tender for users’ comfort

    Story and photos by Tom Serio He’s a big guy, with a big voice, and with big miles under his keel. Now he has big goals. Capt. …

    Owner’s View: Effort in captain-owner interview pays off

    Owner’s View: Effort in captain-owner interview pays off

    Owner’s View: by Melvyn Miller As is the case with owners of yachts, I have found it difficult to describe an average captain of a …

    Ocean plastic removal program gets grant

    Ocean plastic removal program gets grant

    Photos by Lockhart Maclean Fort Lauderdale-based Mission Resolve Foundation has gifted Ocean Voyages Institute $25,000 as a challenge …

    MarineMax acquires NJ

    MarineMax acquires NJ

    Clearwater, Florida-based MarineMax has acquired Fort Lauderdale-based brokerage firm Northrop & Johnson, a 71-year-old company that …